Skip to main content

NESCPA Legislative Update: Jan. 15, 2024

January 15, 2024

It’s Day 9 at the Nebraska Legislature. Click here for the Weekly Legislative Report from Radcliffe Gilbertson & Brady! Please let me know if you have any concerns with the bills that are listed.

State Legislation Update With Lobbyist Korby Gilbertson, Jan. 22:
Just a reminder to join the Society for our annual State Legislation Update on Monday, Jan. 22, either in-person at the Society office or via Zoom! Click here to join the Zoom. Meeting ID: 817 8868 8815 / Passcode: 258401

LB 854:
NESCPA Chairman Kelly Martinson will be testifying before the Banking, Commerce & Insurance Committee on Monday afternoon, Jan. 22, in support of LB 854. The bill would allow individuals to sit for the CPA exam in Nebraska with a minimum of 120 semester hours or 180 quarter hours of qualifying college credit and a bachelor’s degree. Under current statute, individuals are only allowed to take the exam within 120 days of completing 150 semester hours of qualifying college credit. This bill would only amend the prerequisite number of college credit hours a candidate must complete before being eligible to sit for the CPA exam. It does not alter the current educational or experience requirements for CPA licensure. Presently, 49 states and other jurisdictions allow individuals to sit for the exam with 120 hours and/or a bachelor’s degree. Nebraska is one of only six jurisdictions out of 55 licensing bodies that do not allow candidates to sit for the exam with 120 hours of qualifying education.

LB 1059:
In other news, representatives from the Nebraska Society will be meeting with the Nebraska Chamber on a few potential changes to LB 1059, which would update Nebraska’s PTET law. Special thanks to Erica Parks, Brian Klintworth, Jodi Eckhout, Shawn Melotz, and Stacy Watson for their time and efforts on this matter!

Tune In:
Click here to watch the Nebraska Legislaturevia livestream from Nebraska Public Media. Note:  Governor Pillen is scheduled to present the annual “State of the State” address on Jan. 18 outlining his priorities for the session. His address will also be available via livestream.

Term Limits:
The following state senators are term limited, making this session their last:

  • Carol Blood, District 3
  • Mike McDonnell, District 5
  • Tony Vargas, District 7
  • Justin Wayne, District 13
  • Lynne Walz, District 15
  • Joni Albrecht, District 17
  • Bruce Bostelman, District 23
  • Anna Wishart, District 27
  • Steve Halloran, District 33
  • John Lowe, District 37
  • Lou Ann Linehan, District 39
  • Tom Brewer, District 43
  • Steve Erdman, District 47

For a complete list of the State Senators, click here

The Nebraska Society’s Political Education Committee (PEC) will be meeting in March to distribute financial contributions to state legislative candidates, prior to the 2024 elections. Click here to learn more about the PEC and make a contribution!