Skip to main content

Legislature convenes Jan. 5, 2022

January 05, 2022

The second session of the 107th Nebraska Legislature kicks off Wednesday, Jan. 5, 2022. It's a "short" 60-day session, which means floor debate on carryover legislation from 2021 can start almost immediately. (In an odd year, the Legislature has a "long" session lasting 90 days.)

Click here to view the Agenda for Jan. 5.

Once the session is under way, senators will have 10 days to introduce new legislation. Hundreds of bills will be introduced between Jan. 5 and Jan. 20.

Jan. 13 will be Gov. Pete Ricketts State of the State Address, where he will outline his priorities for the session. 

Since we're in an even year, the Governor will be releasing proposed adjustments to the state's two-year budget adopted last year. In addition, the Governor will outline his recommendations for spending the nearly $1 billion in American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds that are available to Nebraska and will be allocated this session.

Speaker of the Legislature Mike Hilgers has announced that committee hearings will occur at 1:30 p.m. on weekdays until every bill has had its legally required public hearing. The all-day hearings  implemented last year due to COVID are now a thing of the past.

This session is the last one for nearly 25% of the legislative body due to term limits. In Nebraska, senators are limited to two consecutive four-year terms (eight years), after which they must wait four years before running again. 

2022 will be the last session for the following 12 senators:

  • Sen. Curt Friesen, Henderson, District 34
  • Sen. Mike Groene, North Platte, District 42
  • Sen. Matt Hansen, Lincoln, District 26
  • Sen. Robert Hilkemann, Omaha, District 4
  • Sen. Dan Hughes, Venango, District 44
  • Sen. Mark Kolterman, Seward, District 24
  • Sen. Brett Lindstrom, Omaha, District 18
  • Sen. John McCollister, Omaha, District 20
  • Sen. Adam Morfeld, Lincoln, District 46
  • Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks, Lincoln, District 28
  • Sen. John Stinner, Gering, District 48
  • Sen. Matt Williams, Gothenburg, District 36